Colorado’s first snowfall of the season: September 7, 2020

Earlier this week Colorado got its first snowfall of the season. But the season is still summer, so that’s kinda crazy.

I shouldn’t be surprised after living here for three years because by now I’m very familiar with freak snowstorms that come of nowhere, blow through town in a couple days, and leave beautiful warm weather in its wake. This cold spell is no exception. And since fires are still raging out here in the west, I’m hoping this cold snap helps put them out.

This one came through on Monday evening following weeks of brutally hot temperatures in the high 90s as well as thick, smoky air from those fires that rained ash and charred pine needles over several counties in the area. It was apocalyptic, yet nowhere near as alarming as what’s happening on the west coast these days. Praying it ends soon out there.

I have to say, I was actually excited for some cold weather. I’m not ready for full-blown winter yet, but long sleeves and a puffy jacket was a very nice change of pace. It also gave me a good excuse to play Christmas music all day long, cook up some comforting meals, and crawl into bed at 6:30 p.m. to watch Netflix until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer. We don’t get many overcast days out here so when we do, I totally soak it up.

A couple favorite things to share this Friday:

SmartLess podcast! Someone I follow on Instagram recommended it, and I’m always excited to listen to new podcasts, so I popped one on last night during a long evening walk. Jason Bateman, Sean Hayes and Will Arnett are the three hosts, and their guest was Will Ferrell. I had to stop walking a couple times because I was laughing so hard. Oh man, it was good. I can’t wait to listen to more episodes this weekend.

Ali on the Run’s interview with Justin Grunewald. Justin’s wife, Gabe passed away from a rare cancer a year or so ago, and they talked a lot about grief and how he has not moved on from it, but is just moving forward every day as best he can and finding happiness in that. It’s a great interview with a surprise at the end. I definitely cried a little on my run listening to them.

The Office bloopers. I’m a huge fan of The Office, and lately I’ve been watching bloopers on Youtube and, guys, they make me laugh harder than the actual episodes. Seeing the actors break and barely able to keep it together while filming scenes is hilarious. I’m laughing right now just thinking about it. If you need to smile, watch a couple videos and you’ll feel better.

Homemade lemon energy bars: dupes for Larabars! Ok, well, I haven’t made these yet, but the lemon Larabar is one of my favorite flavors, so I think I’m going to whip these up this weekend for running and biking fuel. There are just six whole food ingredients and they aren’t loaded with added sugar—love that! I’ll let you know how they come out.

How was your week? Have a lovely weekend!

2 Replies to “Colorado’s first snowfall of the season: September 7, 2020”

Leave a comment